Rock Art

Bubaline

We talk here of "styles" rather than "periods", as it is essentially the stylistic criterion which is used to recognize the productions of different periods. In any case, it must be underlined here that the styles mentioned have been defined on the basis of the creations of the central Sahara and that it is often difficult to identify them in other Saharan regions.

Bubaline

This style, defined by Monod (1932) and taken up by Lhote, was given this name on account of representations of the giant buffalo "Bubalus antiquus" (Pelorovis antiquus), which probably disappeared in the second millennium BC in some of its Saharan refuges.

Almost all scholars agree that this style only concerns engravings, and particularly those with a broad line, polished and fairly deep, with a total, or at least dark, patina.

The animal representations are basically naturalistic, with careful anatomical details and perspective.

 
   

Bubalus antiquus. I-n-Habeter - Messak Settafet - Libya

On the contrary, scholars disagree about the kind of animals represented. While Mori asserts that the fauna represented in the productions of this style is exclusively wild, Lhote and Aumassip admit some domestic bovid representations in the "Bubaline" style. Muzzolini, following Graziosi, considers Mori's assertion arbitrary, for he has found, on the same sites, many domestic animals (cattle) represented in the same style, with the same technique and patina as those of the wild animals.

Therianthromorph. Wadi Taleshut Messak Settafet - Libya

Elephants, giraffe and cattle on the same rock face. Note the collar - a clear sign of domestication - on the bovid on the left. Wadi Tillizaghen - Messak Settafet -Libya

The humans associated with this fauna are normally small and lacking details. But, on the contrary, the engravings of bubaline therianthromorphs (beings half-animal, half-human) are often very big, with a mass of details.

Geographical distribution: Saharan Atlas, Ahaggar (Hoggar), Tassili-n-Ajjer, western Fezzan, Djado, western Tibesti.

 

Elephant of bubaline style followed by a small schematic human. In Galguien - Messak Settafet - Libya

 

Large human touching a Bubalus antiquus. Oued Djerat - Tassili-n-Ajjer - Algeria

∆ Top of page ∆

Home | AARS | Deontology | Publications | Rock Art | Club AARS | Links |

Last update of this website 20/12/14

Art rupestre

Bubalin

Nous parlons ici de " styles " au lieu de " périodes " car c'est essentiellement le critère stylistique que nous utilisons pour reconnaître les œuvres des différentes périodes. De toute façon il faut ici souligner que les styles, ici mentionnés, ont été définis sur les oeuvres du Sahara central et qu'ils sont souvent difficilement identifiables dans les autres régions sahariennes.

Bubalin

Ce style, défini par Monod (1932) et repris par Lhote, est ainsi nommé pour quelques représentations de " bubalus antiquus " (Pelorovis antiquus), disparu probablement dans le deuxième millénaire BC.

Presque que tous les savants sont d'accord pour considérer que ce style concerne seulement les gravures et, particulièrement celles à trait large, poli et assez profond, avec patine totale ou, au moins, sombre.

Les représentations animalières sont essentiellement naturalistes avec détails anatomiques soignés et perspective stylisée.

 
   

Bubalus antiquus de I-n-Habeter - Messak Settafet - Libye

Théranthrope du w. Taleshut. Messak Settafet - Libye.

Sur les sujets représentés, il y a, au contraire, une évidente différence d'opinion entre les savants. Alors que Lhote, Mori et Aumassip affirment que la faune représentée dans les oeuvres de ce style serait seulement la faune sauvage, Muzzolini considère que cette affirmation est arbitraire car il trouve, dans les mêmes sites, de nombreux animaux domestiques (bovinés) représentés dans le même style, avec la même technique et patine que ceux de la faune sauvage.

Eléphants, girafe et bovidés sur la même paroi. Notez le collier, indice
manifeste de domestication, sur le bovidé de gauche.
W. Tillizaghen - Messak Settafet - Libye.


Normalement les personnages associés à cette faune sont petits et dépourvus de détails. Souvent, au contraire, les théranthropes (êtres mi humains mi animaux) bubalins sont gravés en grandes dimensions avec une profusion de détails.

Distribution géographique : Atlas saharien, Hoggar, Tassili-n-Ajjer, Fezzan occidental, Djado, Tibesti occidental.
 

 

Eléphant de style bubalin suivi par un petit personnage schématique. -
In Galguien - Messak Settafet - Libye.

 

Grand personnage qui touche un bubalus antiquus.
O. Djerat - Tassili-n- Ajjer - Algérie.

 

∆ Haut de page ∆

Dernière mise à jour de ce site samedi 20 décembre 2014